Underrated Masterpieces: The Phantom Menace

Underrated Masterpieces: The Phantom Menace

Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace (1999) is the only Star Wars movie I cared about not because I was two when it came out but because compared to Star Wars Episodes II-VI, The Phantom Menace had George Lucas’ complete creative control. He did regret Revenge of the Sith (2005) and the troubled productions of A New Hope (1977), The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and Return of the Jedi (1983). He thought The Empire Strikes Back was the worst of the original saga and I agree completely.

I LOVE Jar Jar Binks and for a lot of reasons. He is cute, kind, innocent, generous and a bit clumsy to everyone he sees. Any of the Star Wars work not made by George Lucas is not good because I have a strong belief that the creator does everything right.

I went to see the movie in 3D twice in February 2012, once with my late sister Caroline and the second time for my 15th birthday celebration.

The problem with the Star Wars fandom is that they expected nonsensical spectacle while dealing with an invasion from a Trade Federation is much more acceptable. A lot of Star Wars fans loved Darth Maul but they cannot kill Jar Jar because he is a character, too.

Leave a Reply

