David Banner’s 193-Word Monologue to Betty Ross

David Banner’s 193-Word Monologue to Betty Ross

After he gained the ability to absorb energy with his unstable cells, he had a conversation with Betty Ross about what he has done to Bruce and Betty concluded that he gave his son fear.

“Fear? Perhaps, Miss Ross. And loneliness, too. Yes… I feel them both. But I have lived… completely once. I was so much in love, and she so much wanted a baby. My baby. I could tell from the moment she conceived that it wasn’t a son I had given her but something else. A monster, maybe. I should have put a stop to it right then, but I was curious and that was my downfall. And as I watched this tiny life unfold, I began to imagine the horror of it and my curiosity was replaced with compassion. But they took away my chance to cure him. Your father threw me out. I remember that day so well, every moment, every sensation, walking into the house, the feeling of the handle of the knife in my hand. I knew I was doing a father’s work, fulfilling a father’s mercy. But then, she surprised me. It was as if she and the knife merged. You cannot imagine the unbearable finality of it. And in that one moment, I took everything that was dear to me and transformed it into nothing more than a memory.”

David Banner felt complete sorrow over the fact that his son was conceived after David improved on the limits of himself. Five years later, he planned to strike Bruce down but struck his wife, Edith instead, to even more sorrow. David later spent thirty years in prison and he was given the chance to see his son a few more times.

 

Leave a comment